Refurbishing classic bicycles

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by KC-Steve, Jan 14, 2010.

1. KC-Steve

KC-Steve New Member

Hi all,

I'm new here and have jumped into bikes again after many years since riding during my youth. I'm not really fanatical about bicycles, I just enjoy riding now and then.

I have a mechanical side to me that wants to refurbish-improve an old classic like a 1985 Schwinn World 10-speed. The Schwinn's frame fits me perfectly. I also bought a 1978 Raleigh Record Ace, mainly for parts, because the frame is too large for me. I plan to use the Brooks seat, the brake extension handles, maybe even the center-pull brakes from the Raleigh.

My question is are there a lot of people buying old frame sets such as the Raleigh for $50 or so?

Thanks for replies,
    Steve

Attached Files:

2. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Welcome, Steve! Great to have you on the forum.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Just throw that frame on Craigslist, and mention that it's a perfect candidate for a fixed gear conversion. It will sell.

4. KC-Steve

KC-Steve New Member

Thanks Xela and Hack, I will keep you posted on the project's progress.

:)
    Steve

5. lotek

lotek New Member

Steve,

There is a rather large market for old steel frames, especially ones that we of
    a certain age rode 'back in the day'.
    One word of caution, vintage bikes are an addiction, once you start you'll start
    noticing old bikes, and lusting after different marques, bikes from different countries of origin etc.

Marty

6. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

Hmmmmm, so how big is "too big?"

7. Doohickie

Doohickie Older than Hack

Looks to be about a 23-24" frame.

8. KC-Steve

KC-Steve New Member