Reinforcing Tires

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by funetical, Mar 4, 2011.

1. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I have Bontrager H2, 700x35c.

I just had another pop, I took it to the bike shop and had the guy watch me to make sure I was changing it correctly he said yeah. I asked him about reinforcing wheels he went on about some things, but the majority were out of my price range.

Is there anything I can do to cut back on flats, or at least any tricks for flats that might save me a dime?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

3. wild

wild Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man

Mr Tuffy , too

4. tomk

tomk Member

What is causing the flats? Also - are you repairing the hole in the tire before you replace the tube? Get some tire boots and be sure to cover the area of the puncture from the inside. A damaged tire will often cause a flat in the same spot over and over again as the tear from the puncture rubs against the tube over time. A big enough puncture can also cause the tube to poke through the hole and rupture. Also check the tape that is wrapped around the rim to protect the inner tube from the spokes. If it is frayed or worn or any spokes are poking up replace it.

Also check your rims. If you hit some road debris that got between the rim and the bead of the tire you could have a nick in the rim. I had this happen last fall. The shop was able to use some light sandpaper and smooth down the nick.

After picking up my new Specialized last August I had two flats in the first 10 miles from the road debris issue above...compounded by damaging the tire so that the new tube would poke through the rip and puncture. I ended up replacing the tires with Specialized Armadillo elites - not cheap but I have almost 1,000 miles on the bike with NO FLATS since.

5. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member