Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Rider's Lock is an aesthetically minimalistic, yet dead sexy integrated cable bike lock and is currently on KickStarter with only 2 weeks left to fund! The project would greatly benefit from the Two Spoke community's support in spreading the word, getting exposure to potential contributors, and offering feedback on the design. Check out the design and see a video of the Rider's Lock in use here:

Rider's Lock by Taylor Roan

·
DX's Biggest Member
793 Posts
ONE minute or less with a plumber's handheld pipecutter, and the classic is gone.....

And I'm not a bike thief; that's all it would take ME, if I was bent that way!

·
Registered
927 Posts
Cute, but not effective.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
ONE minute or less with a plumber's handheld pipecutter, and the classic is gone.....

And I'm not a bike thief; that's all it would take ME, if I was bent that way!
I'm pretty sure I could do the job quicker with a short steel bar inserted into the lock, to pry that bit off the bars. And my cordless Dremel would make quick work of the cable itself.

That setup may deter the casual thief, but that's it.

·
Banned
1,508 Posts
Bike locks are a scam onto themselves.

Those stupid cable locks are all but useless, even a dodo thief can carry a simple hand tool in his back pocket and defeat those.

The advent of battery powered angle grinders will make mincemeat of any lock in less than 2 minutes. Even before there was the battery powered angle grinder thieves still had devices that could defeat even the toughest locks it just took longer and required a great deal more effort.