Two Spoke Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
They? Still? I don't remember bicycles as high fashion before. I see this as a very positive sign that bicycling is spreading to all segments of society. You can pay way too much for shoes, a bag to carry your stuff, wristwatch, etc. but these things have functionality as does a designer bicycle. If you want a heavy, ugly bike that costs way too much and you can afford one, go for it! Ride it to the opera and give your chauffeur the evening off!

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
A bicycle as a fashion accessory fails to acknowledge the fact that they can be a utilitarian tool for getting people from one point to another. Or that they can also be a finely tuned piece of high performance sporting equipment. That functionality is being dismissed, in favor of nothing more than questionable aesthetics, or for the purpose of selling a "lifestyle" that's actually counter to their intended demographics.

·
Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man
4,311 Posts
I an sure the LBS would rather sell one of these at a 30% markup then my $1000 Fuji :D

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
A bicycle as a fashion accessory fails to acknowledge the fact that they can be a utilitarian tool for getting people from one point to another...
If you want to be seen on your Hermes bike, you need to ride it! It looks like a bike that's intended to get it's well healed owner around town. It certainly is equipped similarly to the (somewhat less expensive) retro town bikes I often see in DC. I don't think someone who would choose to buy this bike would store it in their living room, as a fashion statement, like the Cannondale/Klein that hung on Seinfield's wall but was never ridden. But I could be wrong.

·
Premium Member
2,475 Posts