Riding the Bicycle after extended time off

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by gatorguy, Nov 7, 2009.

1. gatorguy

gatorguy New Member

I have not ridden much in the last 6 weeks due to schedule and crappy weather. Today was great so I went out to do one of my regular 15 mile routes and felt like I was pulling 2 tons of weight behind me. Can 6 weeks really make that much difference?

I was very discouraged when I finished. The weather is supposed to be nice again tomorrow so I'll go after it again.

Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I had a friend in Australia who tied a car tire behind his bike, and dragged it around the track in his backyard, as part of his training regimen. Is that what it felt like?

Seriously though. Six weeks is a long time off the bike. Best to get back into it at an easy pace.

3. Mike1jw

Mike1jw Member

Thanks Hack! I'll have to keep that in mind. I've been off the bike for a while, (waiting for an insurance check and my new frame to come in) and I think my first thought would have been to take a really long ride to get it out of my system. You probably saved me from possibly hurting myself. :thumbsup:

4. gatorguy

gatorguy New Member

LOL! Yeah, probably

5. mikebike

mikebike Florida Cyclist

Yep....6 weeks is a long time off the bike.

Sometimes one week will actually allow you to come back and ride quicker...BUT..6 weeks would take it's toll. The toll will be also directly correlated to how old you are --- the older you are the more the effect:rolleyes:

6. gatorguy

gatorguy New Member

Well I wasn't exactly off, I did 24 miles with my GF a couple weeks ago, but at a very relaxed pace, maybe 10mph. I was doing 15 miles every other day with a 30 to 40 on a weekend with avg speed 16 to 17 mph, so definately out of sync. I''m 56 so recovery doesn't come as quick as it used to, maybe atrophy begins faster than it used to as well. :(