Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
can this be done?I was wondering if i can put a 130mm 36 hole hub on my tec9 43mm deep v rims,

thanks,
luis

·
Registered
330 Posts
A hub is a hub. As long as the number of holes matches, anything will work. Differing numbers of holes can be accommodated for, but it's better to have them match.

·
Registered
330 Posts
How are you planning on stopping?
The 43mm Tec 9 rims, AFAIK, have a machined braking surface.

Of course, hipsters don't like brakes anyway. And general society prefers that they don't have brakes ... so that we can nip that offshoot of the genetic tree in the bud before it pollutes the future.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks guys , I'm new at this so I didn't know, all hubs have the same width, where the spokes attach. it's the axle that varies. right?

·
Registered
330 Posts
thanks guys , I'm new at this so I didn't know, all hubs have the same width, where the spokes attach. it's the axle that varies. right?
There are a million or so combinations out there. Hub flange diameters differ, flange spacing from center varies, etc. Plus, track hubs are usually 120mm width and road hubs are 130mm width for the rear.

ie: if you're thinking about reusing your spokes, it's almost guaranteed to be impossible.

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
I don't get the comment about paying Phil Woods (to shorten the spokes?) but I think it was a snarky wisecrack anyway, not to be taken seriously. Whether or not your rims are compatible with rim brakes is indeed something to consider. I don't think rims need to be machined, as long as they have a flat surface that the brake pads can align with. Platypus and Industry Hack know more than me about that sort of thing, so listen to them. Although one of them seems unwilling to explain himself in a way that a neophyte can understand, maybe he will make himself clear.

"How are you planning on stopping?"