Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, love all the information I can get here. I've been riding on and off for nearly 50 years now. I'm currently on a Trek 4500 mtb that i put road tires on and ride 15 - 20 miles a day. I also have my old (25 years old easy) KHS Express that feels like a brick when I ride it. I'm looking at a new road bike but want to be sure it will meet my needs and wants. I want to start doing more miles and possibly do a 100 mile ride by end of summer. I guess I'm looking for a bike that will be easy to ride and go faster than my Trek. Will there be a big difference between what I ride now and a brand new road bike? I'm 6'6" and am thinking I will need a 64cm bike. Does that sound right? I haven't been fitted yet but just talked with a LBS. Right now I'm looking at a Specialized Secteur Comp Apex, Trek 1.5 and a Trek 2.3. Only because these are available in 64cm. I just want to be sure the expense of a new bike will be worth it. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
Before even getting to the bottom of your post I was thinking Spec Roubaix and I think I'm correct that the Secteur is just the Roubaix in an aluminum frame. I love my 'Roub'. The relaxed geometry makes this 40+ year old body very happy. We have some Trek riders here as too, maybe they will chime in as well. Either way, you're headed down the right path IMHO.

When I started back riding a couple years ago, I dusted off my old mountain bike and put road friendly tires on it. Quickly upgraded to a flat-bar road bike hybrid and them ultimately to the Roubaix. I resisted buying a road bike but in retrospect, I would have saved myself a chunk of money had I just went with the road bike up front.

·
Premium Member
5,352 Posts