Two Spoke Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 199 Posts

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working on a review of this bike for a while, and it's nearly time to publish it - just needs some finishing touches and photos.

No matter how many advances the manufacturers make in materials like carbon fiber, and the advanced manipulation of aluminum alloys, many of us still prefer steel. With that in mind, I decided to review a classically styled steel framed ride that nearly all cyclists have been drawn to at one time or another.

Stay tuned.

·
Registered
625 Posts
and the bike is???

·
Registered
625 Posts
Will it be affordable? I'm torn about my next road bike purchase. I have decided against an all carbon bike. I do like steel, but unless you know where to look, it's getting harder to find, or it's expensive (as in custom built). So I lean towards Ti (Motobecane) or hydroformed alloy/carbo mix (Neuvation).

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
After seeing the $10K+ plastic bikes that few can afford, I'm committed to only reviewing products that most people can afford.

·
Registered
625 Posts
After seeing the $10K+ plastic bikes that few can afford, I'm committed to only reviewing products that most people can afford.
Cool.

I love it how I walk into a shop and talk about steel, titanium, and/or aluminum and a $2k budget, and they're showing me $2.5-3k carbon. Sales speak like, "invest in the frame and you can always upgrade to the components you want later," or "save the money for the increased cost." They poo-poo my concerns that I weigh well over 200 pounds and don't want to ride a plastic bike.