Saddle / Seatpost Security

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by TxCyclist, Nov 2, 2009.

1. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

When out in the urban area what do you do about the security of your saddle/seatpost?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I have this device that prevents theft - my ass.

Having lost several bikes to thieves, I'm not likely to let a bike out of my view, and don't use a QR seatpost clamp if I can help it.

3. jeepster93

jeepster93 New Member

I do not use quick disconnects on the saddle.

I have heard of whole bikes disappearing in seconds, just turn your back.:mad:

Around here the bums and homeless ride around on $1000 plus bikes as pawn shops are not allowed to pawn the high end bikes without proof of ownership. So the bums steal them and ride them. Drives me nuts to see a bum on a $2000 Specialized.:eek:

Although...
    The truth of the matter is...
    2 allen wrenches and 1 spanner will take apart almost an entire bike...
    So even a good lock will not totally protect your bike.

Last edited: Nov 2, 2009
  4. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I don't do anything. I've never seen a homeless person with just a seat. Your making me paranoid though I'm looking into Quick Disconnects.

5. lotek

lotek New Member

I generally don't leave the bike where it's out of my sight.
    I've thought of quick releases but that's a bit of a bother, and they don't quite
    look right on some of my older bikes.

marty

6. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

You all are lucky. I commute to work almost daily so going to get lunch, running errands, its' all bike and I often have to leave it unseen. I thought about welding a ring onto the seatpost to run the lock thru. Thought maybe there was an easier solution.

7. Industry_Hack