Scandium and Titanium

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by jpmike6656, Dec 23, 2009.

1. jpmike6656

jpmike6656 New Member

Hi guys and gals, I don't know anything about using scandium for mtb frames but see them for sale. I've been looking at Lynskeys and the titanium frames they build, drool! I'm interested in building a 29er. I see 29er scandium frames for about 1/2 the price of a titanium frame from Lynskeys. I imagine the price diff. is that Lynskeys frames are hand made in the US (huge plus) and the other frames from are robotically built in China (big minus). I guess my question is how is scandium diff. as a frame material from crmo steel/titanium/carbon/aluminum? Any opinion/help is appreciated.
    Merry Christmas to all of you.
    Mike

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Seems like you've got a bit of misinformation. You could pay a premium for a frame made in the US, but that doesn't necessarily mean you get a better bike. And many people fail to make the distinction between China and Taiwan.

Given a choice, would you prefer a frame that's hand made by someone who only builds maybe a couple dozen bikes a year, or someone that welds up several bikes a day? I'm just trying to point out that country of origin does not always dictate quality.

As far as comparing materials, that would take forever to point out the differences. But here's a short primer on Scandium, which is an element added to aluminum alloys.

3. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Which is better Scandium or Titanium?

4. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

Do not judge frames by where they are built. This is often a big mistake and tends to cast a negative light on the person making the judgment. People in China are no better or worse than those in the USA or the UK.