Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The local Boy Scouts are working on their cycling badge, and I got a visit from their Scoutmaster last night. I'll be holding a workshop next Wednesday to teach them whatever mechanical skills they need to get their badges.

Since these are Utah Scouts, I was advised to not enjoy a cold one while going over the finer details of bike maintenance. Sad, because that's really an essential component of repair. :rolleyes:

·
Two skinny J's
21,348 Posts

·
Registered
6,987 Posts
What types of things will you be teaching them, since it won't be:
How to Open a Beer Bottle without a Bottle Opener 101.

·
Registered
66 Posts
The requirements are to show what areas need lubrication, the ABC quick check, adjusting brakes, steerer and saddle.

Oddly, they don't seem to require that you show how to change a tube, but does require a total of 150 miles, including a 50 mile ride.

·
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Well, we went over bikes this week, and I have to work with them on some maintenance issues so they are ready for their ride next week. And we agreed that the sample safety checklist is due for an update. There's mention of coaster brakes, three speed hubs, and chain tension, but overall it's got a very old school look. Every bike but my demo bike had a suspension fork and derailleurs.

·
Registered
625 Posts
They require a scout to ride a fifty miler?!?!!
Yes and no. They are not required to do the Cycling merit badge. It is an Eagle required merit badge if they haven't done Swimming or Hiking. (They can only choose one of the three as an Eagle required one, then if they choose to do one of the others, it is an elective.

In South Florida, most of my scouts choose to do the Swimming merit badge.

http://meritbadge.org/wiki/index.php/Cycling