she should have been charged!

Discussion in 'Activism / Safety' started by SUX VR40 Rider, Oct 4, 2010.

1. SUX VR40 Rider

SUX VR40 Rider New Member

Another case of law enforcement not doing their job by not charging a bad driver with distracted driving that resulted in injuries to a cyclist.

Link: She should have been charged!

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Can you provide a link to the news article?

3. SUX VR40 Rider

Decorah bicyclist injured Tuesday in car accident

This is the article as it is posted on bikleiowa.com. If you click on the link at the bottom of the bikeiowa article it says "Sorry, this page no longer exists in our system. Please click here." If you click on the "Please click here" It takes you to the main page of the Decorah newspaper.

4. Industry_Hack

What should she have been charged with?

5. SUX VR40 Rider

Distracted driving or what ever the current equivalent is in Iowa. Right now the law is vague and hard to understand an interprite with out effort by law enforcement. Until it is made more clear and the job of law enforcement is made easier by a new law that makes it clear drivers will continue to not be held accountable for their bad decisions and behavior.

Some drivers know the law is not real clear on what they can and cannot be charged with and have used that as carte blanche to harass cyclists on purpose.

Right now a lot of it boils down to how much effort an LEO wants to put into researching what a driver can be charged with. I think a lot of the time they are lazy and unless it is obvious and celar what a drive can be charged with they do not bother to consult with what ever resources they have at their disposal.