shimano spds or crank bros eggbeaters

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by Sonoran_Tj, Jan 8, 2010.

1. Sonoran_Tj

Sonoran_Tj New Member

Ive been using spds on my roadbike for about six months now, and I recently switched them to my mountain bike (I replaced platform pedals). I also have a pair of Eggbeaters that came off a trek mountain bike that I havent used yet.

Which do yall prefer? What advantages do Eggbeaters have over spds?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Nearly twenty years with SPDs, I cannot change.

3. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

Egg beaters are more fragile, do not have adjustable tension, and [in my experience] seem to be generally more expensive.

I'm with Brian. SPD's 4 Life!

4. Mootsguy

Mootsguy A Red Headed Stepchild

Eggbeaters are hard to beat. Plus they have the benefit of not being Shimano made.

5. Sickmont

Sickmont Member

From what some of my buddies say its basically a weight thing. But then again, these cats are hardcore weight-freaks anyways. No offense, but i prefer my big ass platforms.

Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
  6. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

Time ATAC; stop fooling with the pretenders!

7. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

...and your bike will be lighter without all that money weighing down your wallet.

8. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I've got five or six sets of Eggbeater SL's (stainless steel) of various generations and they are all still working great. Not sure where the "fragile" rep comes from unless you're talking about the Ti version. I routinely bounce my stainless pedals off east coast rocks and have yet to break one.

I can't speak from personal experience with regards to Time pedals, but have heard nothing but good things about them from others. Many of my friends swear by them.