Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started riding again after several years off. I am 6'6" tall. The bike I have has a real long head stem. Will a shorter one help me with some more technical riding?

·
Premium Member
6,015 Posts
Do you feel cramped now? Does it feel like you need to stretch out?

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
I just started riding again after several years off. I am 6'6" tall. The bike I have has a real long head stem. Will a shorter one help me with some more technical riding?
As a general rule a shorter stem makes the handling more 'twitchy' or faster steering, so from that respect it would probably help you navigate technical trail sections better.

UPDATE: It probably goes without saying, but a shorter stem could impact the fit of your bike since your moving the bars closer to you so keep that in mind.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the info, all things to consider. Debating spending any money on this bike or saving for a 29er.

·
Two skinny J's
21,193 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
That's quite long, if that proves to be the length after you remeasure. A stem that long is generally a crutch for getting a too small frame to work.

The 110 mm range is ideal for most types of riding. If it's much longer or shorter then the frame simply isn't the right size.

·
457 Posts