Two Spoke Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm Ron, a semi retired photographer and studio owner (32 years). We moved on a lake 6 years ago and just like to relax and have fun. I was 179 last Christmas and my brother in law said - lets make a bet on weight loss amount over next 3 mo. I WON. Lost 35 lbs. Still loosing by not trying. After the excersise kick was started.... I continued to be active this summer, bought a bike as a friend has one. So I've been biking for about 2 months. And have bought 3 bikes so far. First was 100.00 mtn bike... learned the tires with all that rubber were TO HARD TO PEDDLE ON for any length. SOLD IT 2 days later for 150. (bought and sold on craigs list)

Then bought a FULL CARBON frame hybrid. Was MTN but converted with road bike slicks, had a Rock Shox front fork, I changed to carbon fixed fork.

Thats a nice bike so I KEPT IT - but wanted a road bike. Found a Craigs list SCOTT speedster S20 CR1 at less than 1/2 the price new - in MINT condition.
So using that now. (primarily). I ride with 2 guys - 10 and 18 years younger than I am and we use STRAVA for competing various segments. I'm ahead of them on many. Pretty cool for 55. We ride 2-3 times a week. On the weekends - 30 - 50 mile runs. During the week maybe 15 miles per ride.

Bad part - these great finds are rare, so it's a bit to big for me. I have changed the stem to shorter and pushed the set forward to max. Seems ok, but i'd prefer my body more foward as I think it would get me up over my legs more. I know fit is everything. But Seems to fit ok. I'm also using cages. clipless is in my near future.

We have lots of great bike trails nearby... most in shade along the river in the city. Really blessed to have them so close. I also sail, play guitar... been married for 32 years - two kids. 1.5 grand sons.

Well that's my intro.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,867 Posts