Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 325 Posts

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got passed this evening by a dapper gent aboard a Spot Acme. Gates belt drive, 11 speed Alfine IGH, hydraulic disc brakes. The future is now! Link.

Please post picture of cool bikes (or anything else of interest) 'Spotted' on your ride. :)

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
I think the larger size costs the same but wouldn't simply raising the seat a bit do the trick? I guess he can pay a bike fitter to raise it for him. From his dress and demeanor he seemed like a guy who could afford a bike fitting but perhaps too intelligent to spend money that way. ;)

I prefer undersized frames myself. My Cannondale H300 was designed for a smaller person than me, but it was also designed to be ridden in a more upright position. By buying the wrong size I was able to get the right fit. :)

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
I think the larger size costs the same but wouldn't simply raising the seat a bit do the trick? I guess he can pay a bike fitter to raise it for him. From his dress and demeanor he seemed like a guy who could afford a bike fitting but perhaps too intelligent to spend money that way. ;)

I prefer undersized frames myself. My Cannondale H300 was designed for a smaller person than me, but it was also designed to be ridden in a more upright position. By buying the wrong size I was able to get the right fit. :)
My comment was meant a bit sarcastically, but raising the seat isn't going to change anything. His knees look close to the bars, even with that long stem. Seems cramped, even for an upright ride. And based on the photos, if he can mount a rack and panniers, he's going to hit them constantly. From the Spot website, looks like they're not really intended for mounting racks though.

·
12,350 Posts