Spring adjustment screw

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Roadster, Jul 21, 2010.

1. Roadster

Roadster New Member

On my Tektro V brakes I am unable to turn the spring adjustment screw (below the cantilevers, to regulate the position of the pads on the rim) unless I first detach the spring. Rear brakes seem ok but I have this problem with the front brakes. The screw simply will not turn in the hole. Once I release the spring I'm able to turn the screw. I've studied it and can't see what the problem is.

Anything I can do to correct this?

2. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

Are you talking about the screw labeled "Spring tension centering screw?"
    [​IMG]

3. hophead

I've never encountered that problem before. Try disconnecting the noodle to release tension and run the screw all the way in then back out. Maybe it has some locktite on it that is making it hard to turn under tension.

4. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Misuse of that screw is an easy way to break Avid brakes. I can't imagine how fragile the Tektro brakes must be.

Go gently.

5. Roadster

Roadster New Member

Update

Today I went to the bike shop to get the problem addressed. I received a stern lecture from the mechanic, who said that the spring must always be released before turning the adjusting screw, "otherwise you will break the brake." I didn't come across that fact anywhere in my research. Neither the LBS nor Tektro mentioned it when I talked with them.

So who's right about this? Are you supposed to have to release the spring before turning the screw, or not?

6. hophead

The Park Tool website disagrees with your mechanic.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 24, 2010
  7. Industry_Hack

That guy in post five disagrees with the Park Tool site.

8. hophead