Square frame

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by whitewolf, Oct 26, 2009.

1. whitewolf

whitewolf Guest

I just thought the idea of having a square shaped frame instead of the usual rounded one would be kind of cool but can the rectangular / square shape withstand as much force as having a circular shape of pipes?

Does anyone have a bike like this?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

That would allow it to flex on the vertical plane, which would be ok. But it would also flex on the horizontal plane, which is very bad.

The custom XC bike that my ex wife just sold for peanuts had a rear triangle constructed of rectangular tubing. Because the tubing was taller than it was wide, it had lots of lateral stiffness. But you need to get into long travel, DH style bikes to see any real benefit.

3. Echihn

Echihn FreerideLife

Its been done and it works just fine.

UFO bmx frames back when used square tubing. Redman bikes (one of the TOP custom bike makers in bmx, next to staats) used a monocoque square tube and down tube design.

Its been proven to work well, but rather pointless because a round tube bike will be generally easier to build, and generally like said stiffer in parts.

Many, MANY mtb companies use square tubing for rear triangles. Square tubing in the rear actually is better in many cases than round (but like industry said, its a bigger travel thing for the square). Just the front triangle suffers from square. IE generally breaking at the head tube like ufo's did. Redman used that notorious monocoque that got them famous that allowed more welding surface area to avoid those head tube cracks.

4. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

Anyone have a picture of an square tubing bike? Never seen one before.

5. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.