Stand Alone or Kit

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by TxCyclist, Aug 9, 2009.

1. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

For those who ride indoors what setup do you have? Dedicated indoor bike or a conversion kit for one of your roadies.

2. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

I got a CycleOps Fluid trainer and rollers. I have Inside Ride's E-Motion rollers (Inside Ride, Inc.: Home of E-Motion Rollers - Overview) and am really happy with them. Though with all the outside riding I've been getting in, I'm dreading the winter nights I'm gonna need to spend on those.

3. joseyd77

joseyd77 Guest

CycleOps Trainer

I am an amateur cyclist and was wondering if using my '06 Specialized Tricross Comp Double on my trainer will damage the bike components in any way. I bought the CycleOps Fluid Trainer, and it has worked well, but I have noticed that the rear tire is "shedding" onto the flywheel. Should I use a more rugged tire for indoors, is this normal, or do I have it set-up incorrectly?

Thanks!

4. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Spinning on those trainers generates a lot of heat. This is murder on your tires. And if you are using a tire with any lugs/tread, it will eat it up quickly. The sell trainer specific tires (Vittoria Zaffiro Pro Home Trainer Road Bike Tires from Realcyclist.com), but I just keep my worn out road tires when I replace them for use on the trainer. If you set your resistance way high, the heat build up would get even worse, and this could also be your problem, but I think your issue will be solved if you use an old road bike tire with the tread worn down.

5. mtndoc

mtndoc New Member