Stationary Bike is Killing Me, Why?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Grenouille, Feb 13, 2011.

1. Grenouille

Grenouille Grenouille

At the gym (where I've retreated while waiting for the glaciers outside to recede) I struggle to do a half hour on a stationary bike at the cadence/speeds that on my actual bike I can do for 3 hours without stopping. Any ideas why? or more to the point, any ideas on how to improve?

-- Bad positioning of seat/pedals/handlebars?
    -- Machine actually underreports how hard I'm working?
    -- I'm just out of shape for cycling (though been doing other aerobic/strengthening stuff regularly all winter)?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I'm going with position first. Do you coast? Do you get up out of the saddle every few minutes? I doubt that you can go for three hours on your bike without shifting around a bit, which may be the problem on the stationary bike.

3. Grenouille

Grenouille Grenouille

Yup, I confess, I do coast sometimes, and I do stop for intersections, riding is never uniform.

But no good way to fix position on the gym bike other than raise/lower the seat.

4. tomk

tomk Member

I have the same problem. I just can't get them adjusted to where I am comfortable. I have a little bit better luck with the recumbent bikes at the gym but for the most part I just pray for spring!

5. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

It's because all you do is SIT THERE AND PEDAL -- no swooping corners, no bunnyhops, etc.

In '05, my (R) arm was in a cast to the shoulder, so I couldn't ride; a friend loaned me his trainer so I wouldn't get flabby (and I readily agreed).

Used it twice; the most GODAWFUL experience of my adult life! I'd rather get another divorce than ride a stationary bike or a trainer!

6. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member