Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a good one brewing as to why you shouldn't use an elliptical machine. Give me a day to write it up.

·
Two skinny J's
21,452 Posts
Hmm, this can't be good :D

·
Premium Member
5,352 Posts
I have a Vision Fitness elliptical that I have been using on and off for at least 12 years. My machine lacks the upper body ski poles for no better term. I cant imagine what I could be doing to harm myself.:eek:

·
Premium Member
1,830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The main thing is that while they do promote more glute activation than walking which is good, that's under the assumption that simeone's glutes are functioning correctly.

Given that 80+% of cyclist ive worked have deficits in this area, it's a tricky proposition. Plus, ellipticals have a higher anterior pelvic tilt (swayback) potential which shortens hip flexors, shuts down glutes and lats, hampers lower abdominal wall function, impairs diaphragmatic breathing as well as spinal erector function.

There are quite a few muscles in the calves and hamstrings that showed decreased function in all of the studies I read from prolonged use which then could represent in gait issues while walking.

Other than that....

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
I give up. Seems no matter what you do, someone is saying it's wrong and/or actually harmful. Elliptical machines feel easier on my knees than treadmills. Sometimes you just have to have a fairly quick indoor workout, and get on with your life's other commitments. This is not aimed at the OP, just general frustration.

·
Premium Member
5,352 Posts
I give up. Seems no matter what you do, someone is saying it's wrong and/or actually harmful. Elliptical machines feel easier on my knees than treadmills. Sometimes you just have to have a fairly quick indoor workout, and get on with your life's other commitments. This is not aimed at the OP, just general frustration.