Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello-
it's spring again and I've wheeled out my old bike. I'm hoping to actually venture off the driveway this summer- after I install a bike carrier on the car.
My bike is 30 years old, and there are numerous scratches in the paint which have surface rust. It's got decals and badges that I don't want to lose by getting the bike stripped/repainted. It's a rare bike but I don't think its actually valuable, except to me. Is there a way to stop the rust without repainting the bike?
Any suggestions would be welcome
Suzy

Attachments

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Your local auto parts store will have a rust neutralizer, and your local drugstore might have some touch-up paint. But it will be labeled "nail polish".

Welcome to the forums!

·
Rat Biker
432 Posts
Chances are if you got a good hobby shop near by they might be your best bet for a touch up paint check in the military model colors. As Hack said go to the auto parts store for a small battle of stuff called rust converter. It won't fully stop the rust but if surface it will greatly slow it down. Nice lookin ride to sorta looks like my Sonic

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the advice on rust converter/neutralizer! Do I need to use that and still paint over the scratches to protect it? or is the paint just for looks?
The original paint has always been matte, rather than glossy. And that color is going to be a nightmare to match. I can live with the scruffy look, I'm more worried the rust will spread and destroy my bike :-(

·
Rat Biker
432 Posts