Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm hoping you can answer some questions and offer some encouragement for a complete and total newbie! :)

I bought a bike on Monday (a Giant Cypress ST) to use for commuting to/around/from campus. I consider myself fairly active, I spend a lot of time walking around campus and go to the gym 3-5 times per week. I thought I would adjust to the bike easily, but boy was I wrong! The (small) hill of my morning commute is very difficult for me and makes me dread getting on my bike as I am practically gasping for air the whole time. Even on flat surfaces I feel like I am going extremely slow.. other cyclists have passed me and this is really discouraging.. will it get easier?!

I did some reading online and think I figured out how to use the gears, I have left the left shifter on 2, and am just using the right shifter. However, I'll take any advice on this as well.

As for braking... what brake should I use? I read to use both the front and rear break, with slightly more pressure on the front wheel.. is this correct? I'm terrified to break too hard that I might go flying off the bike! Also, should I be hearing the tire break?

My biggest issue though, is my knee. My right knee really hurts when I am riding my bike. While walking, it does not bother me. I don't know if it is something I am doing wrong, or just my body adjusting to this new activity. I don't know if I should stop riding for awhile, or if I can ride through it.

I also just need some encouragement.. I feel like a fool riding my bike because I am so slow and a little clumsy, and also because any slope at all (even small) is difficult for me.

Basically, any words of wisdom you have for me would be great!! Thank you so much!!

·
Registered
50 Posts
We all feel clumsy when first starting out. It will get easier. My husband has the same bike and loves it :)