Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
The Back Row
2,514 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please move this thread if it has been placed in the wrong section.

I finally ordered myself a set of Tiagra 4503 shifters to replace my current Soras on my Trek 1.2. It will be great to be able to shift when in the drops! :love:

My only issue is that I'm a newb when it comes to bicycle mechanics and would love to learn how to do this job myself. I know how to loosen the shifter to move them up or down on the handlebar. Is this the same screw to remove them completely? What about the cables? Is this a job for the pros?

Do you guys have any reference articles you can point me to?

Thanks!
synack

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
I changed the title of your thread to see if that gets a bit more attention from the road cycling members, since I'm more of a single speed, MTB, BMX guy.

To answer your question, yes, there should be one screw that you loosen to move or remove them. While replacing the shifters isn't a huge deal, it does require attention to detail, and some patience. But you can probably do it yourself. Worst case, you'll ruin some cable and housing, then have to pay someone.

If you haven't already discovered the Park Tools website or Sheldon Brown, I would head to either of those places first. The only reason I'm not linking directly to an article (besides laziness ;) ) is that you should get a feel for navigating those sites if you want to do your own work. Let us know if you run into any issues - it's not rocket science. Heck, even Funetical could probably do it.

·
Registered
657 Posts