Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
1,393 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been trying to talk my wife into a tandem for the limestone trails - 1-2 days per week we ride the trails due to time considerations instead of driving to our favorite paved trails - WE ALWAYS ride together so I thought it would be easier to talk, not have to worry if one or the other is keeping up - two people to balance the bike at a stop - etc - what are your thoughts ?

·
1,393 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I saw one today - I also like the dual clip pedals - pedal on one side - clip on the other - this makes a TON of sense at a crossings where you could just pedal - get across - get going & flip & clip

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Try this:

Put a blindfold on your wife, and take her for a ride in the car over the roughest section of road you can find. Try to remember to call out each bump with enough time for her to react. That's what a tandem is like.

If you are not terribly well matched, you will end up doing more work, or you will take it easy while she works harder. At most stops, my wife never unclipped, but I did. It's a lot more work at first, but worth it if you can find the right pace. And a good tandem team can cover a lot of ground in a short amount of time.

My advice would be to rent or borrow before you buy though.

·
1,393 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
We are REALLY a good team - if I have to work harder if she gets tired I don't mind as long as I don't have to wait for her - I think being able to communicate while riding would be a plus - we will definitely rent one first - maybe next weekend when we are in Florida

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts