Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Don't Call Me Shirley
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I'm new to distance riding, or what I call distance anyway. I started cycling a few weeks ago, and have been slowly increasing my distance and pace with each ride. I normally do 5 to 8 mile rides, with the occasional leisurely 12 miler on a nice evening.

Anyway, I started using RunKeeper for my last two rides, having used both Strava and MapMyRide previously. I like the autopause feature when I stop, although I try not to rest unless I really need it.

Tonight I felt like a new person. I did my normal route down a familiar trail, roughly 5.5 miles to and from my house. But when I returned, I felt like I had more! I did the route again, without slowing my pace. The app told me I was around 7 miles in, averaging about 15 mph. Not bad for me, and at that distance, it was a personal best. When I got done with my second leg, I pushed harder, and did a third! I felt great, and I've never done this distance at that speed.

Finally, on my way back home, I turned down another long flat road, just to push one last time, maybe only 1 mile out of the way, but I couldn't resist. When I finally returned home, I was so anxious to see my new personal record, show it to my wife (she wouldn't care), post it to Facebook (they wouldn't either).

I took my phone out of the bag, looked down... The app crashed! It only saved my first 8 miles! It missed my entire third trail ride, and my short detour!

Silver lining is that I did indeed beat my personal best pace, at 16.48 mph, but unfortunately my stats are not accurate. My best guess is I did about 15 miles at maybe 14 or 15 mph.

Here's all that remains of what could have been a great motivator and a bit of an ego booster. I'll get em next time!

image-2652538144.jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
272 Posts