Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
♥'s Bicycles
499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a call early Saturday morning (4/28) from my mother informing me that my father had unexpectedly passed away in the night. This is was absolutely the most devastating news I've ever received because the man was only 55, basically healthy, and I'd just had a nice conversation with him on the phone Friday morning. I can't remember the medical term for cause of death but basically his heart failed in his sleep due to a weakening from chronic stress on the heart muscles.

I didn't post this to garner sympathy for myself but rather as a reminder to all of you to never miss an opportunity to tell your parents, siblings, children, or whoever you are close to how much you love them and how you appreciate all they have done to make your life what it is. The only thing more awkward than having that conversation is the sadness of not being able to.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
I got a similar call from my brother in 2008. My dad had a heart attack, and was in a coma. I caught the first flight to SoCal, and sat by his bedside for three days, retelling all the jokes we had shared over the years. We had spoken two days earlier, but I had asked him for advice, rather than just to chat. Now I wish I had made more time to just chat.

You don't realize how truly awesome someone is until they're gone - that was my dad. I know you didn't ask for sympathy, but you have mine anyway. The best thing I found is to try to be more like him in everything I do.

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
Yep, there's no promise of a tomorrow.

My dad was diagnosed with an aggressive form of Leukemia 14 years ago with less than a 20% chance of survival. I was most grateful that mom and I had a week to spend with him to say our goodbyes. One of the most stressful weeks of my life, but I'm glad the opportunity was given it.