Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have to vent. UDOT is widening our freeway, which is nice. But being that this state can easily get five months of snow, our freeways are a bit odd. The concrete barriers on the median strip have drains in them every mile or so. Since they have moved the barriers and re-striped the lanes during construction, it's been pretty sketchy. Imagine being on a motorcycle, going 80MPH on the freeway, and then suddenly running over a 2x2" metal drain grate! Shame on me for doing it two days in a row. [/rant]

·
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The lanes are all cut up with grooves, which catch your tires. And there are a couple of doglegs as they shift the work from one side of the freeway to the other. So you have to be extremely vigilant, or you'll find your bike going straight as the lanes suddenly shift. And then BAM! there's a freakin' drain in the middle of the road!

Good times. :)

·
Premium Member
3,198 Posts
Dang, Hack, that sucks. No paintings or markings around the drain warning you guys, huh? I could see that definitely being a danger for motorcyclists. I would also think that if that did cause someone to wreck, there would be a liability issue for UDOT.

Can I add my rant about the DOT? Before you can say "no", here it goes. Can anyone explain to me why my county is taking the best asphalt-paved county roads we have and laying brand new chip-seal down? Why not take a road that is not pristine or work on paving current gravel county roads? Seems like a huge waste of money to me. But the real reason I'm griping is because the roads are so much rougher afterwards.

I can't see any advantage to chip-seal other than it is cheaper than repaving and lasts longer. But why not wait until the road actually needs some work?!

I guess they got more of our tax dollars than they know what to do with. :mad:

·
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #5