Tie and Glue Wheels

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by bakers, Aug 13, 2009.

1. bakers

bakers Guest

I was just thinking about tying and gluing the wheels on my mountain bike. Will this increase wheel stiffness? Will it improve cornering traction? Will it wreck the wheel? What will happen if I try to true the wheel after?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Hmm. Never heard of tying and gluing. Is that like soldering spokes? Chances are, there's a reason I've never heard of it.

What wheels are you running now, and what kind of riding do you do?

3. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

Yeah, he probably means tying & soldering. If so, you may want to check out this:Tied and Soldered Wheels by Jobst Brandt

4. Industry_Hack

Usually, I dismiss him as a dinosaur. But in this case, I can't argue with his lack of results. Either way, that was 13 years ago. I think there may have been some improvements in gear since then.

5. hophead

Sheldon Brown or Jobst Brandt?

6. Industry_Hack

Jobst. I have much respect for Sheldon. I'm the guy that came up with the Igor for another bike site, in memory of Sheldon.

7. hophead

Dunno much about JB. I read his book The Bicycle Wheel, but found Sheldon Brown's website much more helpful when I built my first wheel. Unfortunatly, I never had the pleasure of meeting Sheldon befor he died.

8. Industry_Hack

I only exchanged comments with him on the other site. Oh, I do apologize for the link, but I'll make up for it by putting over 15,000 links to this site over there. :D

9. hophead

No sweat. Links are fine when they are posted by active participants here.

10. Grape Ape

Grape Ape Younger than Hack Tavern Member