Titanium Dream Bike

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by pinkskulls, Dec 4, 2009.

1. pinkskulls

pinkskulls Guest

I am planning on buying a Titanium Dream Bike. Because of my body geometry in need to get a custom bike. I am thinking about getting a Serotta Legend SE, Lynskey Helix, Moots Vamoots RSL or Seven. I must get this right because it will be a custom bike. Any thoughts (or recommendation for any other titanium frame I failed to mention). Thanks!

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Don't do it. Once you build the dream bike, you have nothing left to look forward to.

3. Mootsguy

Mootsguy A Red Headed Stepchild

4. Siu_Blue_Wind

Siu_Blue_Wind Guest

Why do you need custom? I had to because of issues with my back. If you are close enough, I know a fantastic shop with awesome customer service. These guys take the time to do it right. I flew from California just to get to them so I can be fitted. It was way worth it because now I am able to ride road when I couldn't before because of the pain.

5. chh55

chh55 Drink plenty of water!!!

There is a lot of truth in Industry's comment!
    That having been said, I think that custom building is essentially for people who's wallets are too large and need refitting. With stems, bars, seatposts, cranks, saddles, there are more than ample possibilities for fitting and fine tuning using "standard" frame geometry. The clue is to find the right frame to fit your body and riding style and then outfit it with the kit that will give you the custom fit you need. This requires experience and creativity!

6. KShep

KShep Zensunni Wanderer

If you are going to commission a custom build I suggest dealing with a craftsman you can meet face to face.

You should be able to find a stock frame that will fit you just as well. I understand that fit may not be the only criteria considered when selecting a custom vs. stock build.