trainer

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by chibibike, Mar 28, 2011.

1. chibibike

chibibike Banned

I wanna get a trainer what is a good one for under $250? I want the ability to have the most resistance I can get.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Drag a car tire behind your bike.

3. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member

What you probably want is a fluid trainer where resistance is adjusted by shifting the gears on your bike. That being said spinning is just as important as resistance. Most people tend to spin too slowly, myself included. Higher rpm with less stress reduces the chance of injury to joints. The most stress you put on a knee the more likely you are to pull or tear something. Yes you want to ride with some resistance, but not necessarily have resistance as a goal. Intervals of higher resistance to simulate a climb, the lesser to simulate flat land. There are some dvds that can give you guidance and are actually like spin classes.

4. chibibike

chibibike Banned

well i've been looking at performace bike at the travel trac trainers, are those ok?

5. Industry_Hack

Moot point. You will not be able to spin out in your max gear (nine or ten speed, doesn't matter) on the highest resistance setting, so it doesn't matter which one you get. Price has nothing to do with resistance amount.

6. chibibike

chibibike Banned

but i wanna be able to set the trainer to give more resistance like i'm going uphill. I don't just wanna spin fast like i'm going on flat ground all the time.

7. Industry_Hack

Do deep squats, where your butt is below your knees. That will blow out your knees faster, and you won't have to buy any new equipment to do it.

8. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member