Two Spoke Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm wanting to upgrade the stock wheels that came on my Windsor Dover. I have been riding them for four years now and would like to get something a little smoother and a little lighter. The stock wheels are Alex DA22, 36 spoke laced to generic hubs. Now, as I look around at wheelsets, I am seeing that the sets in my price range are described as great for training, or excellent for training and casual group racing. Then, the wheels that are out of my budget are described as pure racing wheels. What is it about the wheelsets that designate them for either training wheels or racing wheels? Are the racing wheels more fragile due to a much lighter weight and fewer spokes? Are training wheelsets supposed to be more bomb proof due to a heavier weight? The price range I am wanting to stay in is around $200-ish. Perhaps at this price range I won't really find an upgrade to what I already have? Thanks.

·
spin... spin.. spin
1,623 Posts
true racing wheels are super light and of course some strength is lost... but i am sure you can upgrade your wheels for a lighter better and still durable set. i recently found a set of Miche wheels on clearance for less than have of the suggested retail. my point shop and be willing to take some time. it will happen.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply, SG. I have been looking around and found a few I am interested in. Those being - Neuvation M28's, Forte Titans, Planet X USA Model B's, Shimano R500's, and Open Sport / 105's. All but the latter similar prices. The Open Sports were a little more, and a box rim 32/32, and perhaps a bit more reliable... I'm still looking around though.

·
Premium Member
12,350 Posts