Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Basically, I'm a senior in college and my parents not too long ago bought me a 2010 Specialized Allez for making good grades...I've always wanted to get into cycling...and since I'm a poor student eating way too many ramen noodles, well, I just can't justify paying for a training program or book n training

During the week I work out my upper body with weights...Mon is chest and back...Tues or Wed I do arms and shoulders...every day that I'm not in the gym I do abs and push/sit/pull ups to keep toned. I'd say I also run 3 days a week most weeks.

I'm about 135-140 lbs, 5'10, and very lean.

My goal is to just start hammering away on the bike....I've been out for rides quite a bit, bit would like to add some basic structure to my week on the bike. At this point my goal is to get out 2-3 times per week and to improve every week. Any suggestions for basic workouts that I can taper up would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hey man I'll get back with you later today about your training questions. Be safe and enjoy the weather man. Talk soon.

Cheers

·
Registered
77 Posts
What are your goals? Triathlons, duathlons, centuries, fast club ride, centuries, racing? You have to kind of structure your training to suite your goals.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
10-4 to that. I'd eventually like to work up to an Olympic distance triathlon, but my over-arching goal is to apply for an officer commission into BUD/s (Navy SEALs basic training)....really my intention is to use this for mental training since that is such a large component of cycling, but for all intents and purposes, triathlons at this stage are what I would consider my goal (while still maintaining the rest of my fitness regimen)

Cheers

·
Premium Member
1,830 Posts