·
Premium Member
1,830 Posts
Giddyup!!

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I swapped some parts today, and had some beers. By the time I was done, it was dark, raining lightly, and I was quite buzzed.

·
YAY BAIKS!
1,536 Posts
I put my new Shimano 520 peddles on my Wahoo yesterday. I loaded up my small trunk/panniers with an ultralight load of camping gear and went for a 8 mile ride on the bike path to see how it will ride. Planning on doing some bikepacking on state forest two tracks. So far I love this bike.

·
Two skinny J's
21,314 Posts
Industry_Hack said:
I swapped some parts today, and had some beers. By the time I was done, it was dark, raining lightly, and I was quite buzzed.
Nice:D

·
Premium Member
5,352 Posts
:thumbsup:Nothing like a new bike. Enjoy.

·
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Installed XT rear derailleur, mount for bar bag, and carbon fiber bar ends. Removed gratuitous stickers for weight savings. I have an XT 9 speed drive drain, sans cranks, but would like to locate some XT 8 speed shifters. I've broken two 9 speed chains, zero 8 speed. Plus, I'm kinda liking the 34t rear cog.

Attachments

·
YAY BAIKS!
1,536 Posts
Does your rack also require brazons on the seat stay too?

·
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
It does, but I thought I saw some threaded holes. And the seat tube is 34.9 at the derailleur, then tapers to 31.8 at the post clamp. Sneaky.

·
Two skinny J's
21,314 Posts

·
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
What happened? I thought you didn't Trek boutique stuff?????
Eh, it's a low end bike, not one of their boutique offerings. I really wanted the Marlin, but this deal was too good to pass up. Originally, it looked like I would go with the Giant Roam, but they have 700c wheels instead of true 29er wheels. When I sell my Cannondale and spares, I will finish the drivetrain upgrade, swap the brakes for Avids, get a fork with lockout, and a 2nd wheelset for my 700x38 tires.