Trunk Bike Rack & Securing Bike in Garage?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by PGirl, Jan 10, 2010.

1. PGirl

PGirl Guest

I am new to biking via triathalons. I just got a road bike and I am looking into bike racks for my car (Saturn 2-door) as well as how to store my bike securely in my garage. I have been reading a lot about people stealing bikes off your car as well as out of your garage. Does anyone have an suggestions on secure bike racks for your car or secure bike storage/racks for your garage?

2. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

If you are willing to install a trailer hitch (usually costs about $150) the Saris Thelma 2 is a great rack that will protect your cars paint from scratches. I installed a hitch on my wifes car with basic hand tools in the parking lot of our apartment; it isn't generally too hard. If a trailer hitch is not an option, the Saris Bones 2 is a good trunk mounted rack.

Locking your bike to an unmovable object with a U lock or thick chain will help but honestly- if someone wants your bike, they'll take it. Your best defense is not leaving your garage door open where someone can just walk in and take it.

3. synack

synack The Back Row

I keep my bike in my house. :)

4. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Fail.

5. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

How do you store your bikes in your garage right now? A ceiling hook?

6. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

That's what I use and I love them. Also the thought of it being a hassle for me to take down and near impossible if the jeep is in the garage makes it near impossible to potential thieves.

I don't know about your car. I have a rack on top of my jeep that I can strap things to.

7. camilo

camilo New Member