1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Two skinny J's
21,193 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Show me a law that changes people's behavior. Utah has no law against texting or talking on the phone while driving, so far as I am aware. But they have laws against distracted driving. I know this, because my daughter has a letter from some politician she wrote to about this.

·
Two skinny J's
21,193 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It honestly worries me more on the job than riding. There is no worse feeling than being 40ft in the air watching a car come straight at you knowing you can never move a bucket fastest enough to get away from a pole. I always figured, maybe wrongly so, if I get hit from behind while riding by a distractted driver...chances are I would never know it. I have had several people I work with that have been hit this way. Flashing lights are like magnets or light to a month, people are just drawn to it!The have been lucky so far.

·
Deranged Touring Cyclist
5,138 Posts
Wow. Must be a real kick in the pants to have your son's killer let off entirely thanks to a law intended to prevent the behavior that caused the accident.

·
Seasider
451 Posts
In the Uk there are strong laws against mobile phone use whilst driving. But like a number things in the modern age, laws are only as useful as to the extent that they ae policed. I am sure we all see on a daily basis people driving and using the phone. Of course this does sadly end in some cases, in tragedy. We seem to have a society that does believe the only crime is to be caught, and if a person wants to do something dangerous or antisocial because it fulfils their desire at that moment in time, tough luck on everyone else. Sad:hate:

·
Two skinny J's
21,193 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Couldn't have said it any better Bongo !

·
Deranged Touring Cyclist
5,138 Posts