Urinating in public

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Xela, Nov 24, 2009.

1. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

I guess this mostly addresses us guys, because I don't see many female cyclists, OK make that never seen any female cyclists, urinating on the side of the road. However, I do know that a lot of us guys, when nature calls out on a long ride, don't bother waiting for the next gas station or rest stop.

I was just watching CNN and the prosecuter they were interviewing said that urinating in public can technically qualify you as a sex offender. Anybody know the details of this assertion? Is it even true?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

If you expose yourself, you can get charged as a sex offender. There is a fine line between public urination, and indecent exposure. I suppose that if you must do it, make sure that you are making a real effort to conceal your junk. Bushes, trees, cars, trash cans, find something to hide behind.

3. Xela

Yeah, I usually do that, but it makes you wonder. I guess you could get some police officer that really has a thing against cyclist, and he throws the book at you. I never even imagined public urination might lead to being registered as a sex offender ("8 year olds, Dude." Random applicable Big Lebowski quote.)

4. Grape Ape

Grape Ape Younger than Hack Tavern Member

Public urination is not an offense that cause you to have to register on the sex offenders registry. The problem is if someone sees your junk then it becomes indecent exposure. Indecent exposure is a crime that requires you sign up for the Sex offenders registry. Lucky for me If the cop arrests me for indecent exposure, I can drop trou in the court room and be set free. Hell I know where it is and have a hard time finding it, there is no way anyone can say they saw it while walking by.

5. gatorguy

gatorguy New Member

Hey Grape... Too much information!! ;)

6. Xela