Walmart E-Zip Trailz Hybrid Electric Bicycle 2008

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by 47Steve, Oct 22, 2009.

1. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

It's like someone said "how can we make a crappy bike crappier?", and WalMart answered. Seriously. It has a shipping weight of 81lbs. So maybe it weighs 50lbs? What does that leave you with? An overweight, junky hybrid, or a low-performance electric scooter. It seems to me that the electric assist would be needed just to be able to get it moving.

2. ghostrider

ghostrider Guest

Hey you can "Add a second battery (sold separately) for added range"... I wonder how fast the first one wears out... knowing cheap companies and cheap batteries

3. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

That would probably be good for people trying to figure out if they need an electric assist.

4. Industry_Hack

How about one of those gas pipe trikes, but with dual car batteries, and a starter motor?

5. tankboy

tankboy Guest

I'm suprised they don't snap the battery into a hollowed out portion of the main frame tubing instead of having it hanging in some weird detachable way

Do these have any security if you need to go in somewhere?

6. Industry_Hack

Yes, it's from WalMart.

7. buckrogers007

buckrogers007 New Member

gas motor still cheaper and better (for now)

...I really like 2-stroke motors still. Way cheaper and the ones I buy are rated at 10K miles before rebuild (if you take care of it) and the rebuild kit is 30 bucks..mainly gaskets. And a BIG plus where I live, the cars can hear me on the 2-stroke and they look my way.

That's my reasoning for the gas motor over electric right now.
    $2.66 for 91 grade gas and get 130-150mpg ...yes, per gallon. to me, not bad.

And you can do a sweet build for around 600 with new frame/top line tires...

8. SteveM21

SteveM21 Guest