WD40 as bike lube?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Burr, Feb 19, 2010.

1. Burr

Burr Cranking Old Guy

What this I read about never using WD40 on your running gear??? I have been using it for ever!

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

To strip lubricant while cleaning, I hope.

3. Burr

Burr Cranking Old Guy

I thought it was a lubricant!!

I wash then spray it on once a week and ride baby ride.

Does it damage the running gear?

Last edited: Feb 19, 2010
  4. Industry_Hack

It's definitely not a lubricant. But it displaces water, which may help a bit where you live.

5. Burr

Burr Cranking Old Guy

No rain in months.

I'll have to see what I can find over here, maybe 3n1 they call it 4n1 for some reason.

The dirt and dust is so bad here the chain picks up everything. Dry may be better. oily just picks up everything.

I wash dry and lube every Friday both bike (mine & wife's)

6. Burr

Burr Cranking Old Guy

From the WD40 site:

Whether you’re a fisherman, cyclist, pool shark or anything in between, WD-40® can help protect the equipment you use and ensure you continue doing the things you love. Use America’s favorite multi-purpose product to lubricate, protect and drive moisture from your gear and help avoid costly repairs later.

7. Nigal

Nigal YAY BAIKS! Tavern Member

Would you put four quarts of WD-40 in a car's engine?

Well there ya go. :)

8. dcswan

dcswan New Member