what do you carry to work?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by karlbonator, Sep 4, 2009.

1. karlbonator

karlbonator karlbonator

Hi my names karl and im an industrial design student at university
    im designing a commuter bike like many more before me

but i need to find out what items people carry to work or study.
    whats in your bags? ie computer, books, clothes, food.

the more info the merrier.
    and also if you have any ideas for a commuter bike, what do you want to see in a commuter bike would be gladly taken on board

2. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

Hey Karl,

Welcome to the site.

Unfortunately, I don't get to commute to work by bike much anymore for various reasons, but when I did I carried a spare set of clothes, a small tool kit including a multi tool, spare tube, and pump or CO2 inflator, and a water bottle. My commute was only around 12 miles each way, so I didn't need to carry food unless I decided to bring my lunch from home.

-Scott

3. Cycle Snack

Cycle Snack New Member

Here is what you need to design: A way to carry a laptop, business casual work clothes, wallet, keys, cell phone, and a black berry.

My current set up is a Topeak Handlebar bag for the wallet, BB, etc... Garment bag pannier for the work clothes. Wish it had a little more room for toiletries and foul weather gear.

4. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Add shoes in along with clothes for those of us who want to use clipless pedals but don't want to clank around the office all day. If I was carrying clothes with me to change, I would also bring along a towel, because I have access to a shower here at work.

5. Xela

I also think integrated lights (headlights and taillights) would be a good idea on a commuter bike.

6. hophead

You need to get yourself a pair of these.....
    [​IMG]

7. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

Yo, HOP -- love the sandals, where'd you get 'em & what brand are they?