1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Came across this competition
HTML:
http://www.facebook.com/probikekit/app_204169126292521
and just wondered what cycling actually means you to? Cheesy I know but I'm fairly new to road cycling and just wanted see what motivates other people to ride. To me it's the thrill of speed on the open road, the wind in my hair (under a helmet of course), pushing my limits. Look forward to hearing other suggestions. :)

Carl.

·
Registered
9,933 Posts
For me, it has fortunately become an addiction that started off being a way to stay healthy in my retirement years. I ride every day and try to get in 30-40 miles a ride; more on the weekends. I enjoy riding solo, which gives me a lot of "me" time. The speed has somewhat of a thrill factor, but I mostly train for distance rides and any competition is against myself.

·
Registered
415 Posts
1. Freedom (a lot of me time)
2. Fitness (I need it)

·
Registered
97 Posts
I ride for 3 purposes.

1. Commute once or twice a week on average, a small bit to reduce my impact on the environment

2. Fitness, overweight and need the excercise

3. Alone time, time to clear my head and think about nothing too important.

Simon

·
Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man
4,311 Posts
I ride because I just like being on the bike, I can't explane it, it just feels good. and you know the old saying if it feels good do it.:D

·
Registered
9,933 Posts
wild said:
I ride because I just like being on the bike, I can't explane it it just feels good. and you know the old saying if it feels good do it.:D
It's called an addiction. And, I'm hooked, too.

·
717 Posts
There was a similar thread about a year ago and I posted this, it still applies: