what is a fixie?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Hectorious, Oct 7, 2009.

1. Hectorious

Hectorious New Member

hello, this is my first post, i am new to the hobby, first i would like to know what is a fixie? and second i'm looking for a bicycle for daily commute and fitness/exercise. should i get a fixie? (what ever that may be exactly.)
    -thanks

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

It's a bike with a fixed rear cog. One speed, pedal faster to go faster, pedal slower to go slower. Sometimes brakeless, as they're basically a track bike ridden on the street. Not so good for beginners.

3. Skidmark

Skidmark Cycling for life

I would suggest a visit to the LBS. Tell them what your riding ideas are then test ride some bikes. Nothing beats riding.

4. Hectorious

Hectorious New Member

going to have to do that, seems to be the only way i would know for sure what to get,
    and thanks Industry_Hack, i finally get it,

5. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

^The green text above is correct. The term "fixie" refers to a single speed bicycle drivetrain that can not freewheel. (No coasting!)

The red text is conjecture.

•True, some fixed gear bicycles do not run brakes (because you can slow or stop using only back pressure on the pedals) but this is irrelevant in answering the question "What is a fixie" since brakes or brakelessness has nothing to do with a bike being a "fixie" or not.

• Not all fixed gear bikes are "track bikes ridden on the street" The Bianchi San Jose for example is a cyclocross bike with a fixed drivetrain.

• Riding a fixed gear bicycle with at least a front brake requires no more skill than riding a freewheeling singlespeed bike (eg. beach cruiser). Since you can never coast, it will require more effort at first but it's a great way to get in shape. The idea that beginner cyclists shouldn't at least consider fixed gear bikes is not a good one.