What is a Fred?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by fleeter, Mar 5, 2010.

1. fleeter

fleeter The Bearded Wonder

I need a definition for the term "fred." I've been unsuccessful in trying to distill the meaning from the contextual usage of it.

Nigal seems to think it means putting on cycling shorts and clipless shoes, while other people say that wearing a camelback makes you fredi-ish.

I'm so confused :confused:
    :D

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

3. fleeter

sweet, so me and you, we're cool, right?:D

4. Industry_Hack

Like ice.

5. fleeter

I'm just waiting for Nigal to get in here and start posting his hate :p

6. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Wait I'm a Fred? What does that even mean?

7. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

8. fleeter

I guess I am too...:( just based off the statement, "An interesting corollary for the poseur type of Fred is that if someone is worried about being a Fred, he probably is one of these Freds."

9. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I wonder if it works in opposition?

10. Industry_Hack

Better a Fred than a Freida.

11. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I think that depends on which fred or which frieda... No you're right.

12. baj32161

baj32161 American Expatriate Tavern Member

13. goldentouch

goldentouch New Member

I am a Fred and proud of it.

14. Nigal

Nigal YAY BAIKS! Tavern Member

I deal with Fred-types in the backpacking world and I laugh and deride them mercilessly when I hike with them. For them it's all about the mileage and the lightest best gear. Always having the latest and greatest gadget. They take something simple and wonderful like walking and seeping in the woods and turn it into something competitive. Very d*uchey.

Same things goes for the bike world. Riding a bike is a simple joy. So, yes, when I see the middle aged guy with the pot belly on his $3,000 Trek with aero bars and his USPS jersey on riding on the bike path I laugh.