Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
OTR-MTB and Fitness
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm starting to think about going whole hog and getting a double suspension 29er.
So there're tons of different designs, and I need to know the what to look for. What works best? What's lightest? What's best $ for $?

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Hmm. Do you want a dual suspension, or do you want a 29er? Because the two platforms are a bit at odds with each other. It's like asking "What's the most compromised design I can buy?"

·
OTR-MTB and Fitness
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well it depends. I'm afraid it hadn't occurred to me that the 29s could be a liability when you ad in suspension. :( But I'm confused by the verity available. I see the ones with the shock/spring horizontally under the top tube, there's ones w/ single pivot at the bottom and vertical shock. I found a Cannondale that has a 2 piece thing where part of the fork pivots and in the middle. Then there's multiple brands on the components.

·
12,350 Posts
Cannondale is a separate discussion. What kind of riding are you looking to do? High speed XC, on mostly fire road type trails are where the 29er excels. As it gets rougher and more technical, 26" wheels reign king. How much suspension you need is determined by terrain and speed. We used to ride rigid bikes through some nasty stuff, but at a crawl. Suspension helps a skilled rider navigate sketchy trails at higher speeds, but it won't make you a better rider. Let us know your goal, and we can steer you in the right direction.

·
Two skinny J's
21,193 Posts