Two Spoke Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's my problem. I'm 65 and my resting rate is 71 over 132. They've done away with the pre-hypertensive category and call anything over 80/120 hypertensive.
Do athletic people have a higher than normal sistolic heart rate?

·
Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man
4,311 Posts
I am 67 and at my last checkup mine was 70 over 110 I allso am in A fib all the time. I go for a halter monitor every year last year thay found my hart stoped twice during the night but only fo 5 sec the hart Dr. said we dont worry abot that untill it stops for 6 seconds, by the way I use a C-pap machine at night. I have rode allmost 4,000 miles this year and feel good.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
For the record that is a pressure and not a heart rate. Im no doctor and don't play one on TV, but at 65 I'd call that pretty good. Exercise over time will often help control blood pressure, but some people are more sensitive to sodium and that can hide in many places like soft drinks that you wouldn't expect. IF it was just one reading, you are dealing with a snap shot and may not be representative of your condition. Sometimes the accuracy of a measurement can be affected by your arm size and the size of the cuff used to take it. Its one of the limitations of the machines you find in the drugstores. My advise is that if you haven't checked with your doctor, do so and listen to his or her advise. Yet I wouldn't lose any sleep till you can get to an appointment. I would follow up with them as soon as you can, but just don't panic. For the record at one time they called it normal for blood pressure to rise as you age, (because it often does) and as you aged you would get a higher number for normal. I don't remember the breakdown anymore, but 150 for your age would be about right, but still the best place for medical advise is a Dr. that can look you in the eyes.

·
Registered
104 Posts