Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Which bike overall is the best for hybrid purposes, Cannondale, Specialized, Trek, or Giant? I'm totally confused with all the manufacturers as to which bike brand I should choose for my first hybrid bike. Who makes the best aluminum frame out of the 4 listed here?

·
Two skinny J's
21,192 Posts
I am by no means an expert but I believe all the brands you have listed are of good quality and would do you well. I would suggest riding them all and whatever fits and feels the best and fits your budget would be the way to go. To me it's like a Ford vs Chevy thing in the automotive world. At a certain level / price break they are pretty much gonna have the same quality of components and comparable design. I happen to like Trek and own several from hybrids to road bikes while you might find Giant fits your taste and needs better.

In the end I don't think anyone can answer your question but you! Good luck and keep us posted on your decision :D

·
Registered
927 Posts
Nicely put Rola! I agree
Hard to say, you need to ride the various choices and pick what feels best.

I am personally a Trek guy myself, but I can't say that the reason I like Treks are the same reason you would.

Hit the local Bike Shop, test ride them- even riding around in circles in their parking lot you will be able to tell if the bike is a good fit for you or not.

·
Recreational and Utility Rider :)
243 Posts
That is the best advise, ride many, many different brands and frame metals, I ended up perfering a "chrome moly" steel frame, (520 Double Butted) as the "ride" seemed a lot smoother than aluminum, (jmho,ymmv). I bought a 2012 Jamis Coda Sport in Sept. and really like the bike. Now I didn't ride any "carbon fibre" framed bikes as I didn't have the funds but if your not cash strapped, RIDE some of them too.