Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My first real bike was a Schwinn Scrambler. Then I got a nickel Mongoose. I've still got the 24" Haro I raced a few years back. Anyone else get their start on a BMX, or still rockin' a 20"?

·
Registered
22 Posts
I did, started when I was 13 I've been through a few bikes, schwinn, gt, dk, and I still have my pro concept cruiser, I'm about to get back into it, I have a daughter who wants to race and I'm going back with her!

·
No longer a newb!
177 Posts
I remember it felt like years before I could afford to buy my first bike with my paper route money. I couldn't afford the Haro or GT or Redline bikes my friends had and ended up with a Huffy. Lots of good memories of that bike.

·
No longer a newb!
177 Posts
Yeah, I think that' the closest Stu ever got to the bike with his name on it. If you look at the bikes he raced while sponsored by Huffy, you can't really see any similarities.

·
Premium Member
8,414 Posts
I was born in '79 so I was young for the BMX daze, but ET brought BMX bikes to where I grew up. Most kids had GTs with those plastic seats. I wanted one so bad but ended up with a non-BMX Schwinn Stringray my grandfather got at a garage sale or something.

Top-tube "StikShift" but I was too young to understand it, so my father disconnected it and left it on the middle of the cassette. Kid would break my chops about it, but when we went riding, I was comfy as could be while they had to stop to stretch. I just remember that I could wheelie on it all day but damned if you pack-pedal, it'd throw the chain in no time.

I wish I knew what happened to that bike, I think it was tossed out when my folks split up.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #11