Who Rides Bike to Work?

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by bmxfury, Oct 20, 2009.

1. bmxfury

bmxfury Guest

I was just wondering who here rides their bicycle to work?

Do you find it good for health benefits, do you ride in the rain too?

How many miles do you ride it?

Is it stressful, are you forced to ride on roads with cars?

2. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I do. Couple of miles in each direction. Never when it's raining or I'm working nights. And very stressful. You could get hit. Again.

3. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

I've been riding to work for nine years now, average about 10-1/2 months a year. When the roads get too nasty for my taste, I take the bus (car-free for 5 years now).

My commute started out at about 6-1/2 or 7 miles; moved, went up to 9. Changed job locations within the company, went to 2 -- but I soon found alternate routes that bumped it to anything from 4 to 9. A temporary relocation of job again took the commute to 9 miles; that lasted about 8 months. Back to the shorter routes again.

I've done all these rides on fat tires; one hardtail (the frame is due for an SS buildup this winter), and 4 different FS bikes.

Yes, you can get hit; yes, you will have trouble with drivers (who are stupid, generally). But the purity of pedaling will carry you further into a quality of life that's addictive, and healthy.

4. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Wait addiction is unhealthy? Man that explains why my teeth are falling out.

5. 7thID

7thID Guest