Why did you choose Cycling?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Valid, Oct 16, 2009.

1. Valid

Valid Guest

I'm doing research into hobbies and this was on my list. I thought maybe an after work beer league, but I don't drink. Why did you guys choose cycling over everything else?

2. whyeyebike

whyeyebike New Member

Its a great mix of excerise that is relatively low impact, transportation, good for site seeing and cheap once you have purchased the primary equipment.

3. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Trying to get unfat and it's more fun than hiking or walking around the neighborhood. I don't see how people can just walk around the same path in there neighborhood everyday and act like there not bored to tears.

4. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Can you name a better sport/hobby/form of transportation?

5. bantam700

bantam700 New Member

didn't really choose it, I just tried it and liked it.

6. djcyberlegend

djcyberlegend Group rookie

[​IMG] Same here... :cool:

7. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

I was introduced to serious riding at age 14, when a church youth group sponsored a weeklong bike tour. It sounded like: a.) fun, and b.) a way to get away from the house for a week.

It was transformative; when I came back, charged up and full of joy, my mother displayed rare insight and negotiated the purchase of the loaner bike I'd ridden that week. That bike changed my life -- I reunited with my father (on the down-low, mom hated him!), commuted to my first job, and stupidly let it go for the sake of a car.

In my 40's, I was FINALLY able to recapture the unfettered joy and glee of that time. I've been addicted ever since, and have taken it so far that I am now car-free.

30+ years later, 80 pounds heavier, I am faster over the old commute distance on a mountain bike than i was on the 10-speed!

It's like being a kid again, WITH the kids.

8. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff