WTF is that?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by hophead, Feb 10, 2010.

1. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I shot this photo the other night and I'm noticing some weirdness. It appears that I captured some kind of bird when I was shooting this photo. Strange thing is that I shot it with a 1.5 second exposure which is too slow to capture a bird in flight. Also, there appears to be another couple of oddnesses that appear to the right of the "bird thing," a semi-circular corona and a v-shaped thing-a-ma-jig. Any Ideas?

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 10, 2010
  2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Do you have another image, shot immediately before or after?

3. hophead

No, I took another photo a minute or so before that, but it was in a different direction.

4. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Looks like a dragonfly to me. Do you guys have those there? Do they die in winter? Wikianswers says they do not.

That pic reminds me of one I took this past summer near Heidelberg, Germany. Definitely another "WTF?" when we looked at it. Since your thread title is so great, and since my pic is similar, do you mind me posting mine later tonight or tomorrow in here?

5. hophead

No, I don't think it's a Dragonfly. Never seen any around here in the winter. Even if they could survive the cold, they eat mosquitoes and other insects that can not survive the cold. Also, that doesn't explain the other two weirdnesses which I believe are related.

Feel free to post your own odd photos here.

6. flyingdog

flyingdog Member

It's probly the mothership coming to take Al Gore back home.

7. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Here's what my local photography expert (well, he knows a helluva lot more about it than me) says:

looks like it could be a lens flare. depends upon what kind of camera/lens he is using. Or, it could be junk on his CCD or lens. Cool corona.

8. Mootsguy

Mootsguy A Red Headed Stepchild